back from Colorado!

Greetings, all! πŸ™‚

I just got back to Lawrence last night after a lovely trip to Boulder, CO with my momma!! πŸ™‚ We had so much fun it was very difficult to come back to Kansas and face the real world…ugh! We stayed at Foot of the Mountain Motel (so cute–all the rooms are like little cabins!), enjoyed the great restaurants and shops on Pearl St., ventured to Nederland, a cute little artsy hippie town outside of Boulder (we got to ride a Carousel!!), walked around Naropa University campus, walked around the park and Boulder Creek area by the motel, visited Colorado Springs to hike around and take pics of Garden of the Gods, perused the Farmer’s Market in downtown Boulder, got tattoos at Freaky’s on Broadway, visited two wineries (BookCliff Vineyards and Boulder Creek Winery), and of course, relaxed, did crossword puzzles, enjoyed good wine & good food, lots of walking and momma-daughter time!!

If you are Facebook friends with me, check out my album “Colorado!!” πŸ™‚ If not, friend me! ;D

Right now, I am enjoying a nice wine from BookCliff Vineyards called “Friday’s Folly,” a blend of several reds, mainly Merlot. Colorado has some great wines, so don’t be a California-elitist; next time you’re in the Boulder area, check out BookCliff and Boulder Creek! They both have some amazing, award-winning, all Colorado grown wines with varietals you’ll recognize, such as: Chardonnay, Viognier, Muscat, Merlot, Syrah, Petit Sirah, Tempranillo, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Zinfandel!

β™₯

Recently, I have purchased some wonderful books I’d like to recommend to you all:

– Buddha’s Brain: the Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love & Wisdom by Rick Hanson (I bought this one at LightHouse Bookstore in Boulder)

– The Courage To Be Present : Buddhism, Psychotherapy, and the Awakening of Natural Wisdom by Karen Kissel Wegela (I bought this at the Naropa University Bookstore — the author is a faculty member of the M.A. in Contemplative Psychology program)

– True Perception : The Path of Dharma Art by Chogyam Trungpa (I bought this one also at the LightHouse Bookstore as a gift for Jake πŸ™‚ The author is the founder of Naropa)

– The Heart of the Revolution : The Buddha’s Radical Teachings on Forgiveness, Compassion, and Kindness by Noah Levine (I got this from Amazon.com; Noah Levine is one of my favorites–he wrote Dharma Punx and Against the Stream, both of which I would highly recommend)

There are a few others, but I’ll start you off with those πŸ˜‰

β™₯

Well, I must be off, as I am getting sleepy and must face the real world of Work tomorrow. Blehhh… πŸ˜‰ Hope you all are enjoying the summer thus far! Good things are coming up: Father’s Day a week from today, the Summer Solstice (21st), and my birthday (22nd) ;D

I will leave you with a quote:

“All the art of living lies in a fine mingling of letting go and holding on.” -Havelock Ellis

a post from TinyBuddha:

http://tinybuddha.com/blog/lifestyle-design-how-to-create-your-life-as-you-want-it/

and a few questions:

*What do you need to let go of?

*Where are 3 places you want to see/travel to in your lifetime? Why?

*What is one thing you would change about your life right now if you could? What is holding you back?

*Where do you want to be a year from now (physically/emotionally/mentally/spiritually)? What do you need to do to ‘get there’?

and a light-hearted one for the finish:

*If you could be an animal for a day, what would you be and why?

Feel free to just ignore these, ponder them, journal them for yourself, share with others, or leave a comment on the post if you wish. πŸ™‚

Good night all!

peace&love&blessings

β™₯

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Momma Kee
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 01:09:24

    I enjoy reading your bloggings Peanut! Good times were had and fine memories made on our adventure! And the thime spent with you is priceless!
    Oh, and as I think about what animal I would like to be……..I think we both know what that would be!
    KeeKeeeeeee……..and the reason would be, I would be free to soar as high as possible.
    Love you!
    Momma Kee

    Reply

Leave a Reply

